Photo by Pinelopi Papadimitraki

Gioumourtzina were formed in May, 2014, in Thessaloniki, Greece by Anestis Neiros (synth, vocals) and John Tselikas (electric bass). It all started a month earlier when the two musicians first met in order to create an electronica/shoegaze band rehearsing songs already composed by Anestis. After a series of unsuccessful attempts to find the proper musicians to collaborate with, they decided to start as a duet something new, more flexible and more minimalistic, that would combine their soundings. Soon enough their new songs drew attention and took airplays on the internet as well as the FM radio stations in Thessaloniki and the rest of Greece.
Their debut album “Blakk Metall” was released in April 2016 via Inner Ear, followed, a few months later, by a digital ep of remixes from ION, Larry Gus, NTEIBINT, Pan Pan and Vercetti Technicolor.


Newsletter sign up

← Go back